ASHET  is the Australian Society for History of Engineering and Technology. It is a non-profit society, incorporated in the state of New South Wales.

Its objects are to encourage and promote community interest and education in the history of engineering and technology in Australia. It is a national society, with members throughout Australia, though at present a majority of the members are in Sydney, where the society was formed in 2003.

Management Committee

A new management committee was elected at ASHET’s 2016 Annual General Meeting, held on 26 April 2016. The newly elected office bearers and committee members are as follows:

PresidentRobert Renew
Senior Vice PresidentDavid Craddock
Vice PresidentMari Metzke
SecretaryAndrew Grant
TreasurerEric Metzke
Committee MembersElizabeth Roberts
John Roberts
Neil McDonald

This committee will retire at the end of the Annual General Meeting in 2017, and be succeeded by a new committee to be elected at the meeting (date to be advised).

ASHET Office Bearers and Committee

Robert Renew, President. Rob recently retired from a position as Senior Curator with the Powerhouse Museum, Sydney. He has special interests in the history of engineering innovation, and the use of natural resources.

Mari Metzke, Vice President. Mari retired in 2012 from the position of Manager of the Royal Australian Historical Society, a position she had held since 2005. Before that she had held the position of Outreach Officer of the Society for 18 years. She also has a long-term involvement in the Hornsby and District Historical Society.

David Craddock, Senior Vice President. He is a Past President of the Royal Society of New South Wales and is a member of the Hornsby and District Historical Society. He has a special interest in the history of aeronautics in Australia, and is the author of several books and papers on the subject.

Andrew Grant, Secretary, was also a Senior Curator with the Powerhouse Museum, Sydney. He is currently a transport heritage consultant with a particular interest in significance assessment.

Eric Metzke, Treasurer, is a foundation member of ASHET. He is a retired electrical engineer who specialised in electronic controls for power systems. His special interests include Australian and military history, the Boy Scout movement in which he served as a Scoutmaster for many years, and outback travel, to which he can devote more time now that he is retired.

Dr Neil McDonald, committee member now retired, was with ANSTO, the Australian Nuclear Science and Technology Organisation. Neil is a past president of the Australian Nuclear Society and is currently a member of the Nuclear Panel of Engineers, Australia.

ASHET Constitution

When ASHET was formed, it adopted a Constitution based on the standard rules for a non-profit association incorporated in New South Wales. Click here to download a copy of the Constitution.

Guidelines for Groups

ASHET encourages the formation of local and special interest groups. The management committee has approved a set of guidelines for groups. To view and download a copy of the guidelines for groups click here.